A Re-Launch, of Sorts

So I’ve thought a bit about the direction I want to take the blog in the coming months. And I decided a re-launch was a good idea. Same blog, same author, different name, fresh take. I’ve decided to (hopefully) start a weekly column. I will post it on Tuesdays. This column will include my thoughts on the past week of sports broadcasting, the week ahead, some ratings, an update of regional NFL games on CTV and Citytv and HNIC’s distribution (if there is a hockey season). And much more, I’m sure. It will also include a new feature called 5toWatch, where I will give my five most important sports events to watch in the next week.

As for the name. Yes, Canadian Sports Media Blog was direct and said everything you needed to know about this thing. However, I thought it was too long, drawn out, and boring. So, after thinking for a couple weeks, I’ve come up with something new. “A Rouge Point” is the new name. A rouge is a uniquely Canadian term, a single point in Canadian football. It has a similar spelling to “rogue”, where a “rogue point” would be a unique point (of view) that is my own. Similar spelling. Made some sense to me. Maybe not to anyone else. I’ll go with what the creators of Deadspin said, for a while people will question it. Then they will just go with it.

This should also allow me to branch out a bit. Don’t be fooled, most posts will still be media related. But, I don’t want to feel so tied to one topic that I feel bad writing about anything else.

So, see y’all on Tuesday.

12 thoughts on “A Re-Launch, of Sorts

  1. looking forward to it! I have thoroughly enjoyed and appreciated your efforts the past couple years

  2. Very excited about this news Josh! I am looking forward to it.

  3. Nothing wrong with a name change and I look forward to Wednesday. My opinion is that I prefer the longer name, Rouge Point is kind of short and general. It’s true that people will question and most will go with it but there will be some who won’t go with it and that should be noted. Anytime there is a change whether it is the name or the website appearance, there are followers who don’t like it and do not return. Those are the risks. The main thing is you’re the author and that is what the readers want!

  4. I will be reading the first post under your new blog name this Tuesday. In the meantime, have a great weekend Josh! :)

  5. Sounds good! Looking forward to it. Will you be changing your Twitter handle as well?

  6. I am so excited for this new launch, best of luck, and I can’t wait to see what will be in store.

  7. One of my favorite stops on the block circuit. Glad to see it continue

  8. Whatever the name, I will keep coming back.

    Great name too!

  9. You deleted your Twitter…?

  10. Looking forward to the new site. Weekly or bi-weekly blogs keeps things fresh.

  11. Well good luck with moving forward all the same Josh. I’ve only been a follower for a short while but i’ll like the others I’ll keep following things too.

What do you think?

