UFC Comes to Calgary This Weekend on Sportsnet

As I’ve said a million times before, I’m not a fan of mixed martial arts, but for those who are…

As the anticipation across Canada builds for the Ultimate Fighting Championship’s historic Alberta debut, Sportsnet heads to Calgary for multiplatform coverage of cowtown’s biggest fight night ever: UFC 149. Sportsnet will have every angle covered – across television, radio, digital and print ­– from the octagon at Scotiabank Saddledome.

Below are the key details of Sportsnet’s UFC 149 coverage on all platforms:

TV – Sportsnet
· Starting tonight, Connected will provide UFC 149 nightly reports hosted by “Showdown” Joe Ferraro from the Stampede City during the early and primetime editions (please visit sportsnet.ca for Connected broadcast schedule)
· Showdown Joe and Canadian lightweight Sam Stout set the scene for the live pre-fight press conference on Thursday, July 19 at 2 p.m. ET / 11 a.m. PT on Sportsnet ONE and recap the official weigh-ins on a special UFC Central on Friday, July 20 at 7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT on Sportsnet ONE
· Sportsnet primes fans for UFC 149 with UFC 149 Countdown Canada, a one-hour preview show hosted by Showdown Joe from Calgary and Ryan Leslie from the Sportsnet studios on Saturday, July 21 at 7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. ET on Sportsnet East, Ontario, West and Pacific. Following UFC 149 Countdown Canada, Sportsnet presents exclusive Canadian coverage of the UFC 149 preliminary fights at 8 p.m. ET / 5 p.m. PT, including Calgary’s own Nick Ring taking on Court McGee

Digital – sportsnet.ca
· For fans on the go, at work or at the cottage, sportsnet.ca will provide live streaming of the pre-fight press conference on July 19 at 2 p.m. ET / 11 a.m. PT, official weigh-ins on July 20 at 7 p.m. ET / 4 p.m. PT and post-fight press conference on Sunday, July 22 at 1:30 a.m. ET / 10:30 p.m. PT (Sat. July 21)
· sportsnet.ca keeps fans at the pulse of UFC 149 all week long, with special features including:
o Profiles of all seven Canadian fighters including welterweight Chris Clements
o Daily reports filed by Showdown Joe, including one-on-one interviews with fighters from UFC 149
o A special feature on the UFC participating in festivities at the Calgary Stampeders vs. Saskatchewan Roughriders CFL game on July 19
o UFC 149 Mashup: A one-stop shop for all the latest UFC 149 news including stories, columns, blogs, predictions, quotes and videos
· Plus, UFC bloggers James Brydon, Mike Johnston and UFC middleweight Jason MacDonald will post their UFC 149 predictions on July 20

Radio – Sportsnet 590 THE FAN and Sportsnet 960 THE FAN
Sportsnet 590 The FAN and Sportsnet 960 The FAN connect fans to UFC 149 throughout the week with breaking news, interviews and updates:
Sportsnet 960 The FAN has wall-to-wall coverage all week starting on July 18, with live broadcasts from the Champions Creed Gym during the open workouts, and live coverage of the pre-fight press conference on July 19 at 12 noon MT and the official weigh-ins on July 20 at 5 p.m. MT
On Saturday, July 21, Sportsnet 960 The FAN will broadcast a six-hour pre-fight show starting at 12 noon MT from the Scotiabank Saddledome and a live two-hour post-fight show following the conclusion of UFC 149

What do you think?

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s