Friday Morning…

It’s Friday morning and there’s a bit of snow on the ground here in central New Brunswick. There’s just something about this time of year I really like.I have a couple videos to share this morning that caught my eye this past week.

The first is Chris Simpson’s feature on how Luke Richardson and his wife are coping with the suicide of their teenage daughter Daron a year ago this past weekend. A really well-done feature that is honestly hard to get through without tearing up a bit. As I’ve said before, suicide is a very important issue to me. Please watch the video, and then read the article Simpson wrote about it. Also visit the Do it For Daron website. And if you need help, reach out; depression is not something to be ashamed of.

Also, here is a TSN feature on teenager with terminal cancer who is a source of inspiration for the Tiger Cats during their playoff run (and has been for over a year).

These serve as a reminder, there are more important things in life than sports. Have a good weekend everyone.

3 thoughts on “Friday Morning…

  1. Ultimate Fighter starting this spring will air on fx canada no word yet if it wills till air on sportsnet as well.

  2. Nice to take this “timeout” from sports to bring us life. Useful for those of us down South with our Thanksgiving next week.

    As an American, I want to thank you for putting Jack Layton’s words on your blog all this time. It made me smile when I first saw it, and still makes me smile when I see it.

    • Until I hear a more important quote, it will stay there. I’m bi-partisan (my proof is I voted Conservative in 2010 provincial election, federal in 2011 federal election), but that quote really hit me. They are great words to live by.

What do you think?

