A Rouge Point

I'm free to say whatever I like, if it's wrong or right it's alright

Is something brewing at TSN Radio?

with 5 comments

Editors note: This is the beginning of a possible series of guest columns on Canadian Sports Media Blog. Mark Milner is the writer of the blog North of the 400, where he writes a variety of things sports related, including sports media. One of his main points of interest is radio. You can visit his blog here and follow him on Twitter here.

I spend a lot of my down time reading about sports media and looking at job boards, hoping that some great publication will post a listing I qualify for. This never happens.

But sometimes I stumble upon neat little nuggets. Take this listing for a TSN Radio on TSN position. Bell Media is looking for a producer and/or director for something called TSN Radio on TSN or TSN2.

I don’t watch much ESPN, but I’m familiar enough with them to know that ESPN2 has a live simulcast of Mike and Mike in the Morning, their flagship AM show. And I know that Rogers Sportsnet also puts it’s radio shows on the air. Could TSN be following suit?

Right now, TSN2 airs Sportscentre Morning Rush, a 15-minute version of their hour-long sports hyperbole highlight show from 5am to 1pm. Right now, TSN Radio has Mike Richards’ show running from 5:30am to 9am, followed by Dan Patrick until noon and Brian Hayes after. What would make sense to me would be a live simulcast of Richards’ show in the early mornings, followed by Morning Rush.

Here’s where things get tricky: TSN Radio recently changed their lineup. If you remember the launch schedule, TSN Radio originally had Patrick’s show in the afternoon, then Hayes and a one-hour hockey show at noon. Hockey 2Day is not currently the air. I can’t find an official statement on it’s status, but Wikipedia says it’s off for the summer.

Regardless, I find it hard to imagine that TSN, who prides itself on it’s hockey reportage, would let Sportsnet have the only NHL-centric radio noon-hour show in the GTA market. And if they do put together a new hockey show, could it have something to do with TSN Radio on TSN? Remember, TSN airs Sportscentre at noon, and TSN2 airs Morning Rush. Losing either of those for a live-to-air hockey show isn’t a big loss.

Another clue: look closely at the job posting: it “Requires a deep knowledge of Hockey.” Hmm…

Written by Mark

17 August, 2011 at 12:00pm

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. [...] Canadian Sports Media Blog has a guest column from Mark Milner of North of the 400 who wonders what’s going on with TSN [...]

    A Wednesday Link Thing

    17 August, 2011 at 3:06pm

  2. Good column, Mark
    I personally am not a fan of radio on TV… And I have been a fan of the Morning Rush. I would hate to see the Morning Rush eliminated in it’s prime hours (5:30-9am) for a radio show that is directed at a Toronto audience and that is easily accessible online.

    Lion

    17 August, 2011 at 6:28pm

    • Thanks! The more I think about it, the more convinced I am TSN is doing to do a lunchtime hockey show on both TV and radio. It just seems to make the most sense.

      Mark

      17 August, 2011 at 9:31pm

  3. Lunch Time hockey show — I’d PVR it for sure.

    The radio on TV really is nothing new, basically the All News Channels talk shows are just updated versions of the radio talk shows. I think it is a good idea by TSN and SportsNet to do this. The morning show, I’d won’t make time for, maybe if they did a 1 hour “Best of” re-aired later in the day on TSN/TSN2, it might get PVRd and occasionally scanned for anything interesting.

    Trent

    17 August, 2011 at 10:22pm

  4. I agree with the consensus on this. Plus, the Toronto morning show is doing terrible in the radio ratings last I heard. I can’t imagine anyone would want to watch it on TV. I also like the Morning Rush, but theScore usually does 15-20 minutes of commercial free highlights at the top and bottom of every hour, which is even better.

    canadiansportsfan

    18 August, 2011 at 2:46pm


What do you think?

